Home of ....

Northwest Region


50+ Years in the PNW


Northwest Region


Northwest Region

NWR Calendar & Events
Northwest SportsCar News
Join Us
Tire Rack Street Survival
About Us
NWR Region Awards
Contact Us
News of BMP

Explore each subject page above, for more information and links on that subject.

Region Home
Time TrialsDrifing Buttonallregional

About Northwest Region

SCCA: Since 1944, SCCA has championed one mission: To bring motorsports to the masses of American men and women who are passionate about automobiles, speed and competition. From National Championships to regional events, whether professional or amateur, we exist to organize, support and develop auto racing at every level and provide an outlet for you to get out of the armchair and into the action. So, whether your passion is autocrossing, rallying or road racing as a professional or as a weekend warrior, SCCA wants to help you fuel your passion. Northwest Region joined SCCA in 1953 as the 27th Region. We are a part of the Northern Pacific Division which is divided into 2 areas, ours being Area 13.


Our Purpose: The nature of the activities to be conducted and the purposes to be promoted and carried out are as follows:  To promote interest in sports cars and other fine automobiles and to encourage their safe and skillful operation by developing, arranging and regulating closed circuit road racing, rallying, autocrossing and other forms of automotive competition, by dissemination of information through news releases and Regional publications, and through related social and recreational activities for the instruction and enjoyment of its members.


Geographic Location: The Northwest Region of SCCA covers the state of Washington (down to but not including cities on the Columbia River)  and the Northern Panhandle of Idaho. It also includes the southern part of British Columbia, Canada.  We are a full service region offering Motorsports opportunities in Race, Rally (including RallyCross), Solo, and  Time Trials.  Each of the venues have a separate committee working under the guidance of the Board of Directors. Links to their section of our website are listed on the bottom left.


Meetings and Gatherings: The Board of Directors meets the first Monday of every Month (excluding major holidays) These meetings are open meetings. For more information click here or the "Meetings" button above.


Drift: Northwest Region has the longest running drift program in SCCA. This sport is a high-revving challenge where drivers maneuver their cars into precision sideways slides at speed through a marked course. Meetings are held with the Solo Committee who oversees the operational committee for Drift. (See Below)


Race: The Race Committee administers the Club Racing program, including developing the Clubís race schedule, selecting venues, publicizing the Regionís race program, and supervising the Regionís race activities with specialty chiefs.  The meeting is held the 4th Monday of each month, generally taking the month of December off. For more information click here or the "Meetings" button above


Solo:  The Solo Committee administers the Solo program, including developing the solo schedule, selecting venues, publicizing the Regionís solo program, and running the National Tour event and Pro Solo event. The meetings are held the 2nd Tuesday of each month, unless a conflict occurs with the Championships in Topeka. For more information click here or the "Meetings" button above


Rally: Pacific Rally Group (PRG) administers the rallying program, including developing the Clubís rally schedule, selecting venues, publicizing the Regionís rally program. This includes RallyCross, RallySprints, and Stage Rally. Meetings are held the second Thursday of each month. Weekly planning meetings are held for months prior to stage rally events. For more information click here or the "Meetings button above.


Time Trials: This program has evolved from the original Solo1 program.  It is designed to give sports car enthusiasts higher speeds then the Solo program (autocross) allows and/or for those whom the racing program  is not affordable or desirable. There are 4 levels of Time Trials in which NWR offers all except Hillclimbs.  Meetings are  held with the Race Committee meeting (see above).


National Awards: SCCA recognizes regions yearly at the National convention with various awards. Some are based on the size of membership others are membership or region wide (size doesn't matter). Northwest Region has received many awards from SCCA. 

► 2007 Third Place - Region Communication Award

► 2004 Website of the Year - Large Region

► 2004 National ProRally of the Year - Wild West

► Region Achievement Awards ( unprecedented 7 times in a row).

            1996-2000 as a Large Region and 2001 as a Jumbo Region.

► 2001 ClubRally of the Year - Doo Wops Rally

► 1994-ClubRally of the Year  - Twin Peaks Rally

► 1992 ClubRally of the Year - Doo Wops Series

► 1989 National ProRally of the Year - Michelin Pacific Forest

► 1987 - National ProRally of the Year -  Wild West

► 1986 ClubRally of the Year - John's River Lodge

► ClubRally Region of the Year 1986, 1987, 1990 & 1992

► Divisional ClubRally of the Year. went to NORPAC in 1990, 1992, and 1994.


History of the Region: Complete history can be found on our history page.  Membership started with 9 members in February 19, 1953 and had increased to 40 by December.   Total membership as of March 1997 was 1,212 an increase of over 3000% since December 1953. Other membership numbers are listed below.

October 2001 - 1550

October 2002 - 1596

October 2003 - 1449

October 2004 - 1506

October 2005 - 1137

October 2006 - 1032

October 2007 - 1026

October 2008 -  1039

October 2009 - 806


Past Regional Executives:

1953: Tom Carstens

1954: Herb Williams                                           

1955: David Fogg                                 

1956: Geoffrey Atkinson                       

1957: J. Franklin Eddy                          

1958-1960: Burleigh F. Hillman             

1961: Herbert DeBruyn                         

1962-1963: Robert V. Yeakel                 

1964-1965: Roger Swift                        

1966: Ray Rairdon                               

1967: Robert Egan                               

1968-1970: Joe Henderson                                  

1971: Ken Legg                                    

1972-1974: John Martinsen

1975: Ray Altman/Louis Morseth

1976: Louis Morseth

1977: Tony Wascher

1978:  Richard Elmslie

1979-1980: Tony Wascher

1981-1984: Jay Bratton            

1985: Wayne Reuter

1986: John Martinsen

1987: Ken Paton

1988-1989: Wayne Erickson

1990-1992: Bill McGillin

1993-1994: Andy Collins

1995-1996: Eric Mann

1997-2000: Joy Kreick

2001-2006: John Forespring

2007- 2008 - Frank Hamilton

► 2009 - Present - Tom Masterson


Copyright © 2007 NWR SCCA.  |||  Region Home  | Solo  | Race  | Rally  | Rallycross  ||| About Us  | History  | Events  | Contact Us